The Generation of Infamous

The Fugees – The Rise & Fall , Together & Apart (Part 2)

As Our story continues , The Fugees members were focused by working on their solo projects .

Hill started work on her critically acclaimed The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill; Jean began producing for a number of artists (including CanibusDestiny’s Child and Carlos Santana) and recorded his debut album The Carnival; Pras, with Mýa and Ol’ Dirty Bastard, recorded the single “Ghetto Supastar (That Is What You Are)” for the soundtrack to the Warren Beatty/Halle Berry film Bulworth. In early 1998, they reunited to shoot a music video for the song “Just Happy to Be Me” which appeared in the Sesame Street special Elmopalooza, and also on the Grammy Award-winning soundtrack album.

Lauryn Hill – The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill


One of my favorite albums which brings hip hop, R&B and soul to a whole new level , feels like a slam poetry .

John Legend & Lauryn Hill co-produced this album .

Track listing

No. Title Writer(s) Producer(s) Length
1. “Intro” Lauryn Hill 0:47
2. “Lost Ones” Lauryn Noelle Hill 5:33
3. Ex-Factor Hill Hill 5:26
4. “To Zion” (featuring Carlos Santana) Hill
  • Hill
  • Guevara
5. Doo Wop (That Thing) Hill Hill 5:19
6. “Superstar” Hill, Johari Newton, James Poyser Hill 4:56
7. “Final Hour” Hill Hill 4:15
8. “When It Hurts So Bad” Hill Hill 5:42
9. “I Used to Love Him” (featuring Mary J. Blige) Hill Hill 5:39
10. “Forgive Them Father” Hill Hill 5:15
11. “Every Ghetto, Every City” Hill Hill 5:14
12. “Nothing Even Matters” (featuring D’Angelo) Hill Hill 5:49
13. Everything Is Everything Hill, J. Newton Hill 4:58
14. “The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill” Hill, Tejumold Newton Hill 4:17


Wyclef Jean Presents The Carnival

The Carnival (Wyclef Jean album).jpg

The Carnival is the debut album released by Wyclef Jean. The album was released on June 24, 1997, Wyclef Jean also served as the album’s executive producer. The album was a critical and commercial success, reaching at number sixteen on the US Billboard 200 chart, and peaked at number four on the US Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart and garnered Jean two Grammy Award nominations at the 40th Grammy Awards, including one for Best Rap Album. The other for his top 10 hit “Gone till November” earned Jean a nomination for Best Rap Solo Performance at the 41st Grammy Awards in 1999.

Wyclef produces the album by himself and brings all fugess members to the album  also in the production of it .

Track listing

The Carnival – Standard edition
No. Title Writer(s) Producer(s) Length
1. “Court Clef” (Intro) Jean 3:15
2. “Apocalypse”
  • Jean
Jean 3:49
3. Guantanamera” (featuring Celia Cruz, Jeni Fujita and Lauryn Hill) Jean 4:30
4. “Pablo Diablo (Interlude)” (featuring Crazy Sam and Talent)
  • Jean
Jean 0:39
5. “Bubblegoose” (featuring Melky Sedeck) Salaam Remi 3:49
6. “To All the Girls” (Prelude)
  • Jean
Jean 0:29
7. To All the Girls Jean 4:18
8. “Down Lo Ho (Interlude)” (featuring Talent and Wil Shannon Briggs)
  • Jean
Jean 1:13
9. “Anything Can Happen”
  • Jean
  • Duplessis
Jean 4:36
10. Gone till November
  • Jean
  • Duplessis
Jean 3:27
11. “Words of Wisdom (Interlude)”
  • Jean
Jean 0:45
12. “Year of the Dragon” (featuring Lauryn Hill)
  • Jean
  • Duplessis
  • Hill
  • G. Summers
Paul Epworth 4:07
13. “Sang Fézi” (featuring Lauryn Hill)
Jean 4:02
14. “Fresh Interlude”
  • Jean
Jean 1:45
15. “Mona Lisa” (featuring The Neville Brothers)
  • Jean
Jean 4:30
16. “Street Jeopardy” (featuring John Forté and R.O.C.)
Jean 3:57
17. “Killer M.C. (Interlude)” (featuring Pras)
  • Jean
Jean 0:32
18. We Trying to Stay Alive” (featuring John Forté and Pras) Pras 3:11
19. Gunpowder” (featuring Lauryn Hill)
  • Jean
Jean 4:24
20. “Closing Arguments (Interlude)” (featuring Talent and Wil Shannon Briggs)
  • Jean
Jean 1:35
21. “Enter the Carnival (Interlude)”
  • Jean
Jean 0:24
22. “Jaspora”
  • Jean
Jean 4:03
23. “Yele” (featuring Joel Servilus and Lauryn Hill)
  • Jean
Jean 5:24
24. “Carnival” (featuring Jacob Desvarieux, Jocelyne Béroard andSweet Mickey)
  • Jean
  • Duplessis
Jean 5:06

Ghetto Supastar (That Is What You Are)

Pras - Ghetto Superstar single.jpg

Ghetto Supastar (That Is What You Are)” is a song by American rapper Pras, featuring rapper Ol’ Dirty Bastard and R&B singer Mýa. It was released on June 9, 1998. The track samples Kenny Rogers and Dolly Parton‘s 1983 single “Islands in the Stream” and was produced by Wyclef Jean and Jerry ‘Wonda” Duplessis for Pras’ debut solo studio album, Ghetto Supastar. It was also featured on the soundtrack for the motion picture Bulworth“Weird Al” Yankovic also included the song in his polka medley “Polka Power!” from his 1999 album Running with Scissors.

The three Fugees reunited and performed on September 18, 2004 at the concert in Bedford-StuyvesantBrooklyn featured in the film Dave Chappelle’s Block Party (2004), headlining a star-studded bill that included Kanye WestMos DefJill ScottErykah BaduThe RootsTalib KweliCommonBig Daddy KaneDead PrezCody ChesnuTT and John Legend. Their performance received several positive reviews, many of which praised Hill’s near a cappella rendition of “Killing Me Softly”.

Image result for the fugees dave chappelle's block party

The Fugees would make their first televised appearance in almost ten years at BET‘s 2005 Music Awards on June 28, opening the show with a twelve-minute set. With a new album announced to be in the works, one track, “Take It Easy”, was leaked online and eventually released as an Internet single on September 27, 2005. It peaked at number 40 on the Billboard R&B Chart but was met with poor reviews, noting its radical departure from the Fugees’ sound.


After that single release , the officialy broke up in the end of 2005 and ever since they didn’t preform at all .

According for today , Hill dropped out of music , Wyclef still makin’ music and wishin’ he’ll be a president someday .

Their music will be always reminisced .

Idan Naftali Avatar

Posted by

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: